[Skip to Content]

Welcome to the 2019 Golden Crown Literary Awards


Before starting, please review the extensive CHANGES that have been implemented for the 2019 Awards. Categories are differentiated into groups; two new categories have been added; and all evaluation questions completely revised.



Applications for Judges for the 2019 Golden Crown Literary Awards is now open until August 20, 2018.  Both members and non-members of the GCLS are eligible to apply to be judges.

Read through the Judging Process, Rules and Regulations page before starting the application process. You will be asked to fill in your personal information, select five preferred categories and agree to the terms & conditions of the Judge's Agreement.

We'll give consideration to all interested parties in a fair, equitable, and professional manner. We have categories that span a vast array of genres, so there is something that should pique many interests. All categories will have up to five judges assigned.

All judges will be required to attend two one-hour webinar sessions in order to participate in the judging process.  The  webinars will include judging process, a walk-through of the evaluation forms and how to use the online Awards Management/Judging system.

All judges selected will be notified via email regarding category assignment(s). Judging and scoring must be completed no later than April 15, 2019. No exceptions.






To nominate a book, select Nominate > Nomination Form from the main menu or the link at the bottom of this section. If you have not created an account, you will be directed to do so first. If you have already created an account, simply login on the left side of this page with your email and password. Please note: This account is separate from your account at goldencrown.org.


BEFORE SUBMITTING A NOMINATION - Please READ THE AWARDS GUIDELINES to understand what qualifies a book for nomination, and for how many categories you can submit a nomination for that book.


In order for a book to be eligible for nomination in one of the 19 judged categories of the GCLS Awards, it must satisfy Eligibility Rules including lesbian content, first edition, publication date etc. In certain categories, there is a minimum wordcount requirement. The Awards Categories page defines each category and lists guidelines fo judging and eligibility criteria by category.


The nomination deadlines are as follows:


a) Judged categories:



b) Ann Bannon and Tee Corinne awards:



2019 Fees are as follows:

When submitting nominations, you will be required to provide your own contact information in addition to the following:

  1. Title of the book (as it appears on the book)

  2. Author's full name (as it appears on the book)

  3. Publication date (mm/dd/yyyy or mm/yyyy)

  4. Wordcount (for specified categories)

  5. Author's email address

  6. Author's mailing address

  7. Name of Publisher

  8. Publisher's email address

  9. Publisher's mailing address

  10. If submitting eBooks, you'll need 3 versions - .epub, .mobi/.prc, .pdf.  (These must be DRM-free so that all judges in a category can access them.  We suggest watermarking the eBooks with "Review Copy" or something similar.) - Books not required for Ann Bannon and Tee Corinne.

  11. A high-resolution .jpg/.jpeg file of the cover image.

  12. For Tee Corinne - Cover Artist's full name (as it appears in the book)

  13. For Tee Corinne - Cover Artist's email address

  14. For Tee Corinne - A high-resolution .jpg/.jpeg file of the full cover image (including front, back, and spine).


Please take the time to read though the following sections before nominating a book:





If you have any questions, do not hesitate to contact the Awards Administrators at awards@goldencrown.org.

Follow Us Facebook Twitter